Ntha Foundation's AI and Digital Skills Scholarship: What the $5,000 Learning Offer Actually Covers
If you have seen posts about a "$5,000 AI scholarship" for Africans, this is the programme behind them. The Ntha Foundation, a Malawi-based organisation, is offering selected African learners funded access to online courses in artificial intelligence and digital skills for 2027. It is open to a wide audience and costs nothing to apply. But the headline needs care: you will not receive $5,000. The figure is the provider's own estimate of what the course access is worth. Applications close on 1 December 2026.
IZONAI Digital is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or representing the provider of this opportunity. This page is independent analysis — always confirm final requirements at the official source before applying.
IZONAI Analysis
WHAT THE SCHOLARSHIP IS
The scholarship gives selected applicants tuition-free access to eligible self-paced courses on Digital Skills for Africa (DSA), an e-learning platform developed through the Kwathu Kollective in Malawi. The Ntha Foundation describes the award as "valued at $5,000 per learner" and states clearly that it is not a direct cash grant.
DSA says more than 100 courses are available, in areas including:
- artificial intelligence and emerging technologies;
- data analytics and digital productivity;
- automation and digital transformation;
- cybersecurity and digital literacy;
- digital marketing and entrepreneurship; and
- business and professional development.
The announcement does not list which individual courses are eligible.
WHAT THE $5,000 REALLY MEANS
The $5,000 is a valuation, not money paid to you. The foundation does not explain how it was calculated. This matters for two reasons. First, you cannot spend, withdraw or transfer the value. Second, its usefulness depends on how many courses you actually complete during the scholarship period.
WHAT IS NOT STATED
- How long access lasts. Learning begins on 1 January 2027, but the scholarship period is not defined.
- Certificates. The scholarship pages do not say whether you will receive a certificate. No university accreditation or recognised professional certification is mentioned. Treat the courses as practical skills training, not a formal qualification.
- Your own costs. Tuition is covered, but you will need your own device, internet connection and data.
- Terms and conditions. The foundation links to terms, but no text was available when we checked.
KEY DATES
- Applications open: 1 November 2026
- Applications close: 1 December 2026
- Review: 2 to 15 December 2026
- Recipients notified: 15 to 24 December 2026
- Learning access begins: 1 January 2027
HOW TO APPLY
1. Create a free learner account on Digital Skills for Africa. Applications from people without an active account are not considered.
2. Open the official application form, linked from the DSA and Ntha Foundation pages (links at the end of this guide).
3. Explain your motivation, learning goals and how you will apply the skills. Be specific about your work, studies or business.
4. Submit before 1 December 2026, ideally several days earlier.
5. Watch your email between 15 and 24 December 2026 for the outcome.
If anything is unclear, contact the foundation at contact@nthafoundation.org before applying.
NEXT STEP WITH IZONAI
Share this guide with a student, job seeker or small business owner who wants to learn AI skills. One share could change someone's life. Join The IZONAI Opportunity Brief at izonai.digital/join for more verified opportunities before they close.
INDEPENDENT GUIDE
IZONAI Digital is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Ntha Foundation, Digital Skills for Africa or Kwathu Kollective. IZONAI does not accept or process applications.
Published: 5 November 2026. All details were checked against the Ntha Foundation and Digital Skills for Africa pages on 4 and 5 November 2026. The official links are at the end of this guide.
Eligibility
- Nationality: citizen of any African country, living in Africa or abroad. Diaspora applicants are welcome.
- Age: no limit is stated. Applicants under 18 may need consent from a parent or guardian.
- Education: no degree or technical experience is required.
- Account: you must create a free Digital Skills for Africa learner account before applying. Applications from people without an active account are not considered.
- Priority: women and girls are especially encouraged.
Meeting these conditions does not guarantee a place. Applicants are assessed on motivation, learning goals, commitment and their potential to use the skills. The number of scholarships is not published.
The IZONAI Opportunity Brief
Get the next verified opportunity before it closes
Join The IZONAI Opportunity Brief: free, verified opportunities in and with Africa, with deadlines in time to act. Plus a free IZONAI Deadline Tracker.
Who should consider this
African students, job seekers, small business owners and professionals who want structured, self-paced practice in AI tools, digital marketing, data or cybersecurity, and who have reliable internet. It suits motivated learners who will study consistently without a teacher.
Who may not be suitable
Anyone who needs cash support, a university-accredited qualification, a recognised professional certificate, live teaching or a guaranteed job. Learners with very limited internet access may struggle to make progress.
Key conditions
The scholarship covers tuition for eligible self-paced online courses only. It is not a cash grant, and the value cannot be spent, withdrawn or transferred. Which individual courses are eligible is not listed. The length of the scholarship period, whether certificates are issued, and the number of places are not stated. No university accreditation or recognised professional certification is claimed. Learners must provide their own device, internet connection and data.
What to prepare
WHAT TO PREPARE
- A working email address
- A free Digital Skills for Africa learner account, created before you apply
- A short, honest answer on why you want to learn digital skills and how you will use them
- A realistic weekly study plan
- For under-18s, a parent or guardian ready to give consent
OFFICIAL LINKS AND SOURCES
- Ntha Foundation, AI & Digital Skills Scholarship 2027: nthafoundation.org/ai-2027 (opens in a new tab)
- Digital Skills for Africa, scholarship announcement: digitalskillsforafrica.com/nf-ai-2027 (opens in a new tab)
- Digital Skills for Africa, create a free account: digitalskillsforafrica.com/register (opens in a new tab)
- Official application form (linked from both pages): forms.cloud.microsoft/r/zJmRvVuAcA (opens in a new tab)
- Digital Skills for Africa, course catalogue: digitalskillsforafrica.com/courses (opens in a new tab)
Ready to apply?
You have read the IZONAI guide. Confirm the final requirements at the official source before you apply.
The IZONAI Opportunity Brief
Not the right fit? The next one could be
Join The IZONAI Opportunity Brief: free, verified opportunities in and with Africa, with deadlines in time to act. Plus a free IZONAI Deadline Tracker.
